Home  |  Contact Us      
Board Members

The West Virginia Air Quality Board is composed of seven members, five of whom are appointed by the Governor. Two Board members are representatives of industries engaged in business in this state and three are representatives of the public at large. The Commissioner of the Bureau for Public Health and the Commissioner of the Department of Agriculture serve on the Board as ex-officio members.

J. Michael Koon, Chair - Public at Large Representative
Appointed: October 1, 1993
Retired Dean, West Virginia Northern Community College, Weirton Campus, and Vice President of Economic and Workforce Development. M.S., Biology - Environmental Studies, West Virginia University, 1977; B.A., Biology, West Virginia University, 1973.

R. Thomas Hansen, Ph.D., Vice-Chair - Industry Representative
Appointed: November 17, 1997
Employed by Boyd O & G, Inc. Attended Princeton University, Princeton, NJ from 1976 - 1977, Postdoctoral, Yale University, New Haven, CT from 1971 - 1976, Doctorate, West Virginia University, Morgantown, WV from 1967 - 1969, B.S. of Chemistry, University of Montana, Missoula, MT from 1965 - 1967.

Connie L. Stewart, Member - Public at Large Representative
Appointed: April 19, 2022
Retired from the chemical industry, Bayer Crop Science. Master's degree, University of Charleston; Bachelor's degree, West Virginia State University; Charleston Area Medical Center - ASCP-CLA. Employed part time by Generations Physical Therapy.

Robert C. Orndorff, Jr., Member - Industry Representative
Appointed: November 4, 2009
Managing Director, W. Va. and E&P Local Affairs, for Dominion; Master's degree, Indiana University; Bachelor's degree, Millersville University of Pennsylvania. Board member for the West Virginia Chamber of Commerce, Vice Chair of Chamber Energy Committee, Board member of West Virginia Education Alliance, and Board member and past president of West Virginia Oil and Natural Gas Association.

Vacant , Member

Grant Bishop, Ex-Officio Member
Appointed: March 17, 2016
Represents Kent Leonhardt, Commissioner, West Virginia Department of Agriculture. Mr. Bishop's title is Deputy Director, Regulatory and Environmental Affairs Division, Pesticides and Environmental Programs.

Michelle Cochran, Ex-Officio Member
Appointed: October 19, 2021
Represents the Commissioner and State Health Officer, Bureau for Public Health. Ms. Cochran's title is Director, Office of Environmental Health Services, Bureau for Public Health.

Home  |  Site Map  |  Disclaimer
Site Last Updated May 17, 2022
Copyright 2012 West Virginia Air Quality Board
Site Developed by WV Designs